Engine will not start???

  • 28 Replies
  • 4732 Views

RiverRat474

  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Phoenix, Az
  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Registered User
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« on: August 22, 2016, 08:35:53 AM »
I got my engine in and hook up in new hull. After turning engine over with plugs out, everything is spinning freely. I have both oil and fuel pressure. The battery is reading 12+ volts, terminal block 12+ volts, and coil is 12+ with key in on position. When I turn to start position engine just turns over. Pulled plug and no spark. With engine turning over i have a zero ready on positive post of coil. I hoping it's something simple as a bad ignition switch. Any thing else I need to check? Thanks Andrew
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first


GT Jets

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Morgan Hill CA
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,747
  • Karma: +192/-0
  • Team Evil Weiner
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 138
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2016, 09:04:53 AM »
Can you run a temporary wire from the (I) terminal to the coil (+)?

Sounds like the key switch took a poo...

GT
  • Boat #1: 1992 Carrera 20.5 Elite (I/O bitches)
  • Boat #2: 19' Bubble deck Jet BBC Berkeley
If i get some free time tonight at work, ill play with it and post it for everyone to see.

Time to man up and yank it John!  :banghead:
Ray

RiverRat474

  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Phoenix, Az
  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Registered User
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2016, 09:30:52 AM »
Can you run a temporary wire from the (I) terminal to the coil (+)?

Sounds like the key switch took a poo...

GT
Yes I will have to pick up some up I ran out. What gauge would you recommend, if I had to replace just the wire?
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first

GT Jets

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Morgan Hill CA
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,747
  • Karma: +192/-0
  • Team Evil Weiner
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 138
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2016, 10:33:56 AM »
Yes I will have to pick up some up I ran out. What gauge would you recommend, if I had to replace just the wire?

Not replace,  just temporarily jumper between the two.

Probably a switch.

GT
  • Boat #1: 1992 Carrera 20.5 Elite (I/O bitches)
  • Boat #2: 19' Bubble deck Jet BBC Berkeley
If i get some free time tonight at work, ill play with it and post it for everyone to see.

Time to man up and yank it John!  :banghead:
Ray

RiverRat474

  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Phoenix, Az
  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Registered User
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2016, 10:43:28 AM »
Not replace,  just temporarily jumper between the two.

Probably a switch.

GT
I understand. I was also thinking ahead. My luck with boats the last couple years has not been a stellar experience.
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first

GT Jets

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Morgan Hill CA
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,747
  • Karma: +192/-0
  • Team Evil Weiner
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 138
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2016, 11:51:45 AM »
I understand. I was also thinking ahead. My luck with boats the last couple years has not been a stellar experience.

Welcome to the wonderful world of boating. Lol

GT
  • Boat #1: 1992 Carrera 20.5 Elite (I/O bitches)
  • Boat #2: 19' Bubble deck Jet BBC Berkeley
If i get some free time tonight at work, ill play with it and post it for everyone to see.

Time to man up and yank it John!  :banghead:
Ray

RiverRat474

  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Phoenix, Az
  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Registered User
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2016, 11:54:15 AM »
Welcome to the wonderful world of boating. Lol

GT
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first

Jered503

  • Join Date: Jun 2016
  • Location: Oregon
  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Registered User
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2016, 12:26:35 PM »
Had the same problem, luckily for me it was just the ground wire behind the key came loose (fork connector corroded off) easy fix, but a total WTF moment


Sent from my iPhone using SoCal

propless

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Clovis CA
  • *
  • Macho Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,998
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2016, 01:09:52 PM »
I got my engine in and hook up in new hull. After turning engine over with plugs out, everything is spinning freely. I have both oil and fuel pressure. The battery is reading 12+ volts, terminal block 12+ volts, and coil is 12+ with key in on position. When I turn to start position engine just turns over. Pulled plug and no spark. With engine turning over i have a zero ready on positive post of coil. I hoping it's something simple as a bad ignition switch. Any thing else I need to check? Thanks Andrew

 At the key switch, make sure your ignition is hooked to "I" or "IGN" (Ignition) terminal and not the "ACC" (accessory) terminal. Accessory terminal will have power when the key is in the "ON" position, but no power in the "start" position.  If your 100% sure you are using the ignition terminal, then the switch is bad.
Welcome to the club of broken boats :o  Pay here$ bend over and move along.

RiverRat474

  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Phoenix, Az
  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Registered User
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2016, 11:49:59 AM »
Well I'm at a loss still will not start. I must have a short somewhere. I replaced the ignition switch, coil, and the breaker switch. Also ran the jumper wire from the switch mag post to coil plus side. When new switch is on gauge reads 12+ volts, turn to start it goes to 0 volts.
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first

GT Jets

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Morgan Hill CA
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,747
  • Karma: +192/-0
  • Team Evil Weiner
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 138
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2016, 01:03:59 PM »
Well I'm at a loss still will not start. I must have a short somewhere. I replaced the ignition switch, coil, and the breaker switch. Also ran the jumper wire from the switch mag post to coil plus side. When new switch is on gauge reads 12+ volts, turn to start it goes to 0 volts.

What?

The word "mag" has me worried .
  • Boat #1: 1992 Carrera 20.5 Elite (I/O bitches)
  • Boat #2: 19' Bubble deck Jet BBC Berkeley
If i get some free time tonight at work, ill play with it and post it for everyone to see.

Time to man up and yank it John!  :banghead:
Ray

RiverRat474

  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Phoenix, Az
  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Registered User
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2016, 01:14:27 PM »
What?

The word "mag" has me worried .
Sorry short for magneto post
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first

Flusher

  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Location: Colton, CA
  • *
  • Macho Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,072
  • Karma: +73/-0
  • The Machinist
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 26
« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2016, 02:06:33 PM »
There should no current connected to a magneto.  A magneto generates all of its own power as it is turning.  Running power to a magneto creates a short and will result in an immediate fire.

Since magnetos generate their own electricity, the ground lug on a mag provides a path for the electricity to flow to ground instead of through the coil, plugs, etc. when you want to stop the engine from running.

That mag terminal on your switch should go to ground so it should never show any voltage.

I'm not fully down with the "magneto circuit" in your picture indicating a ground opposite the switch unless they intended to illustrate the internal ground within the magneto.

Bottom line, that is not the right switch for any non-magneto ignition, however you could use it to energize a relay that powers your electric ignition.
"I want to roll with my brother Joe" - Joe Bateman - January 29, 1950 ~ November 27, 2013

Flusher

  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Location: Colton, CA
  • *
  • Macho Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,072
  • Karma: +73/-0
  • The Machinist
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 26
« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2016, 02:10:44 PM »
The battery is reading 12+ volts, terminal block 12+ volts, and coil is 12+ with key in on position.

With that switch, wired according to the diagram, I don't see how this is possible.
"I want to roll with my brother Joe" - Joe Bateman - January 29, 1950 ~ November 27, 2013

GT Jets

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Morgan Hill CA
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,747
  • Karma: +192/-0
  • Team Evil Weiner
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 138
« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2016, 02:13:41 PM »
You have the wrong ignition switch. You have a switch for an outboard.

Your switch should have an "S", an "I", a "B" and maybe an "ACC"....
  • Boat #1: 1992 Carrera 20.5 Elite (I/O bitches)
  • Boat #2: 19' Bubble deck Jet BBC Berkeley
If i get some free time tonight at work, ill play with it and post it for everyone to see.

Time to man up and yank it John!  :banghead:
Ray

propless

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Clovis CA
  • *
  • Macho Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,998
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2016, 03:00:23 PM »


 X3, wrong switch. 
« Last Edit: August 27, 2016, 03:13:53 PM by propless »
Welcome to the club of broken boats :o  Pay here$ bend over and move along.

RiverRat474

  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Phoenix, Az
  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Registered User
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2016, 03:08:11 PM »
Ok I feel really dumb. I bought a new switch same as old one. The dumb part is the po was running a magneto. Can I use this new switch by changing the wiring location or do I have to buy another switch? Thanks everyone for your help. Sorry for banging your head against the same wall as me.
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first

GT Jets

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Morgan Hill CA
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,747
  • Karma: +192/-0
  • Team Evil Weiner
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 138
« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2016, 03:41:43 PM »
Ok I feel really dumb. I bought a new switch same as old one. The dumb part is the po was running a magneto. Can I use this new switch by changing the wiring location or do I have to buy another switch? Thanks everyone for your help. Sorry for banging your head against the same wall as me.

The switch works backwards..... Best to buy a proper switch. JMO

GT
  • Boat #1: 1992 Carrera 20.5 Elite (I/O bitches)
  • Boat #2: 19' Bubble deck Jet BBC Berkeley
If i get some free time tonight at work, ill play with it and post it for everyone to see.

Time to man up and yank it John!  :banghead:
Ray

RiverRat474

  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Phoenix, Az
  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Registered User
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #18 on: August 27, 2016, 03:51:31 PM »
The switch works backwards..... Best to buy a proper switch. JMO

GT
pulled the switch off my Miller. What do I do with the ground wire on the switch with the magneto switch. Switch from the Miller just has ACC, IGN, ST, BAT.
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first

GT Jets

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Morgan Hill CA
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,747
  • Karma: +192/-0
  • Team Evil Weiner
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 138
« Reply #19 on: August 27, 2016, 04:07:08 PM »
pulled the switch off my Miller. What do I do with the ground wire on the switch with the magneto switch. Switch from the Miller just has ACC, IGN, ST, BAT.

No ground on the new switch. Cut it back.

GT
  • Boat #1: 1992 Carrera 20.5 Elite (I/O bitches)
  • Boat #2: 19' Bubble deck Jet BBC Berkeley
If i get some free time tonight at work, ill play with it and post it for everyone to see.

Time to man up and yank it John!  :banghead:
Ray

RiverRat474

  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Phoenix, Az
  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Registered User
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #20 on: August 27, 2016, 05:13:49 PM »
Well it's a work in progress. Got it to fire, but I have no gauges now. Has to be a wire or two out of place. Hit my target stress level, I'm done for the night. Thanks again for your time and patience.
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first

propless

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Clovis CA
  • *
  • Macho Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,998
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2016, 09:28:40 PM »
Well it's a work in progress. Got it to fire, but I have no gauges now. Has to be a wire or two out of place. Hit my target stress level, I'm done for the night. Thanks again for your time and patience.

 You made the right choice.  Sometimes you just have to walk away. It will still be there tomorrow and you'll find the issue much faster with a fresh outlook. At least it runs.  :thumbup:
Welcome to the club of broken boats :o  Pay here$ bend over and move along.

RiverRat474

  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Phoenix, Az
  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Registered User
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #22 on: August 28, 2016, 11:42:51 AM »
I connected the ground wire that was removed from the old switch back up at terminal block. Which turned the bilge pump back on. Moved the 2 wires connected to the ACC on old switch to IGN on new switch. Gave me all my gauges back. Now the engine starts and stops clean, everything is working well. No time for a lake test, just have to do it at the river next weekend. But I will finally have a running boat. 😎
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first

GT Jets

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Morgan Hill CA
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,747
  • Karma: +192/-0
  • Team Evil Weiner
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 138
« Reply #23 on: August 28, 2016, 12:04:49 PM »
I connected the ground wire that was removed from the old switch back up at terminal block. Which turned the bilge pump back on. Moved the 2 wires connected to the ACC on old switch to IGN on new switch. Gave me all my gauges back. Now the engine starts and stops clean, everything is working well. No time for a lake test, just have to do it at the river next weekend. But I will finally have a running boat. 😎

You need the right switch. You are asking for trouble.

JMO
« Last Edit: August 28, 2016, 12:44:32 PM by GT Jets »
  • Boat #1: 1992 Carrera 20.5 Elite (I/O bitches)
  • Boat #2: 19' Bubble deck Jet BBC Berkeley
If i get some free time tonight at work, ill play with it and post it for everyone to see.

Time to man up and yank it John!  :banghead:
Ray

RiverRat474

  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Phoenix, Az
  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Registered User
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #24 on: August 28, 2016, 12:40:11 PM »
You need the right switch. You ate asking for trouble.

JMO
I do have the correct switch. The ground wire on old switch was disconnected like you suggested. But turns out some spliced into somewhere in the back for the bulge pump. As for the wires connected to ACC on old switch moved to IGN on new switch turned all my gauges back on. I hope that will not be a problem just to end the season. Will be rewiring the whole boat this winter. It has splices add-ons and old electronic tank selector still wired up.
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first

 


Website Security Test
Powered by EzPortal
Website Security Test