Boating Safety

  • 86 Replies
  • 29008 Views

Brad @ SCJB

  • Join Date: Oct 2006
  • Location: Las Vegas, NV
  • *
  • Administrator
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12,059
  • Karma: +236/-0
  • HNIC
    • View Profile
    • SoCal Jet Boats.com
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 115
« on: August 25, 2010, 10:18:58 AM »
Due to the large presence of the Law Enforcement on the water doing safety checks lately, I figured it would be a good idea to put together a list of items they are looking for. This will help you avoid getting cited for items and having to pay fines - and more importantly, be safe. Alan (aka Boat Cop on PB) works for the Lapaz County Sheriff and assisted me putting together a list of items.

Be Sober - I think this is self explanatory

Registration - Make sure your registration is current and you have your certificate of numbers (registration card) with you on the boat

Numbers properly displayed – Block letters, minimum 3” in height, contrasting color to the hull, visible from 50’ away, and properly spaced: AZ 1234 AB or AZ-1234-AB. Current annual decal displayed.

Life Jackets - One Type I, II, III, or V wearable PFD for each person on board. For a type V to be counted, it must be worn. (must be USCG approved, readily accessible and in good, serviceable condition). Also, if the boat is over 16 feet in length, you must carry One Type IV (throwable) PFD. The Type IV throwable must be immediately available. Children 12 years old and under must wear their PFD when the boat is underway. (Underway means not moored, anchored or aground. Drifting with the engine off IS underway)

Example of Type IV Throwable PFDs


Visual Distress signals – Must be carried on Coastal Waters (Ocean) and the Great Lakes. Not required, but recommended, on inland waters.

Fire Extinguisher – Boats less than 26 ft have to have 1 class B1 hand held F/E. 26 ft to less than 40 ft – 2 B1 F/E or 1 B2 F/E. 40 ft to 65 ft 3 BI F/Es or 1 B2 & 1 B1. Fire Extinguishers must be USCG Approved, fully charged, in good condition and readily accessible. A fixed system in the engine compartment can take the place of 1 B1 F/E regardless of size. (Arizona requires that boats less than 26 ft carry a hand held B1 even if equipped with a fixed system)

Sound Producing Device - A vessel over 39.4 ft (12 meters) must, at a minimum, have some means of making an "efficient" sound signal - (i.e. handheld air horn, powered horn, etc. - Human voice/sound not acceptable). Must be audible for at least ½ mile. Boats under 39.4 feet don’t have to carry a horn or whistle, but are required to give proper sound signals, when required.

Ventilation - All vessels with enclosed engine must have natural ventilation (at least two ducts fitted with cowls). All vessels built after 31 July 1980 must have rated power exhaust blower.

Backfire Flame Arrestor - Required on gasoline engines

Navigation Lights - Required to be displayed from sunset to sunrise and in or near areas of reduced visibility. In California, Personal Watercraft cannot be operated between sunset and sunrise whether they have lights or not

Muffling devices – Each boat must be equipped with an effective means to muffle the exhaust noise. The device(s) must be in constant operation and reduce noise to certain levels

Ski flag – To be displayed if there is a skier (or rope, in California) down in the water.

Ski Observer – Must be 12 years of age or older and constantly observing the skier.

CA: A person under 16 may not operate any vessel greater than 8 HP alone. 12 to 15 may operate with an adult actually on board the vessel. Under 12 may not operate.

AZ: A person under 12 may not operate any vessel greater than 8 HP alone. Under 12 may operate with an adult actually on board the vessel.

The Colorado River and its lakes are dual jurisdiction waterways, where each state (AZ, CA, NV, UT) may enforce their own laws anywhere on the River or lake. You may be required to comply with the most restrictive law, when there are differences in regulations (ie age of operation)

Check local laws and regulations wherever you boat, as they may differ from these. Taking a safe boating course will help you learn and understand the law and safe boating practices.

« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 08:58:03 PM by Brad @ SCJB »
  • Boat #1: 1978 Liberty
  • Boat #2: 1982 Eliminator Sprint


FordLover

  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Location: Sacramento, CA
  • *
  • Macho Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,598
  • Karma: +57/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 11:13:46 AM »
Real good subject!  Safety first!


I am curious, since I have never been drinking while driving a boat but how do they test you for being drunk on the water?  Breathalyzer?  Is it still .08 for being drunk?
  • Boat #1: 1982 18ft Bahner - Broken 460 Ford

Brad @ SCJB

  • Join Date: Oct 2006
  • Location: Las Vegas, NV
  • *
  • Administrator
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12,059
  • Karma: +236/-0
  • HNIC
    • View Profile
    • SoCal Jet Boats.com
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 115
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 11:22:47 AM »
I am curious, since I have never been drinking while driving a boat but how do they test you for being drunk on the water?  Breathalyzer?  Is it still .08 for being drunk?

Typically they will do a field test, then breathalyze. The field test is performed on the officer's vessel and will be things like alphabet type tests, following a pen, touching your nose, etc. Yes, .08 is the legal limit, but I've heard of situations where they determined the person is too intoxicated to operate the vessel even though they blew less then a .08
  • Boat #1: 1978 Liberty
  • Boat #2: 1982 Eliminator Sprint

FORKEDUP

  • Join Date: Jun 2007
  • Location: scottsdale
  • *
  • Macho Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,081
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 2
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2010, 01:23:26 PM »
just to add to the dui issue.  as i now understand it, in arizona if you get a dui on the water it goes against your drivers lisence as well, meaning suspension, higher insurance, immobilizer device (breathalizer) on the ignition, they are getting very strict on this subject.

Great thread Brad. :thumbup:
BEAUTY IS ONLY A LIGHT SWITCH AWAY
26' kachina force 496bbc
19' eliminator daytona 496bbc (still in my heart)

lbhsbz

  • Join Date: Oct 2008
  • Location: Long Beach CA
  • *
  • Macho Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,520
  • Karma: +29/-1
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2010, 03:28:47 PM »
Real good subject!  Safety first!


I am curious, since I have never been drinking while driving a boat but how do they test you for being drunk on the water?  Breathalyzer?  Is it still .08 for being drunk?

They make you swim in a straight line

Nordie

  • Join Date: Dec 2007
  • Location: Las Vegas,NV
  • *
  • Team Member
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4,132
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • never tattoo unlucky on your body, even if that is your luck it will come back ten fold!
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2010, 04:47:10 PM »
Just to add to this is if you were born after jan 1st 1983 you are required a boaters safety course....i know 100% true in nevada, but I believe arizona is likewise

Sent from my SGH-T959 using Tapatalk


If im not posting..I'm pooping!

Brad @ SCJB

  • Join Date: Oct 2006
  • Location: Las Vegas, NV
  • *
  • Administrator
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12,059
  • Karma: +236/-0
  • HNIC
    • View Profile
    • SoCal Jet Boats.com
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 115
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2010, 05:12:29 PM »
Just to add to this is if you were born after jan 1st 1983 you are required a boaters safety course....i know 100% true in nevada, but I believe arizona is likewise

Sent from my SGH-T959 using Tapatalk

That is a law that is specific to NV ONLY (not AZ) Interstate waterways (thats including water that boarders the state (ie The Colorado River @ Laughlin)

The specifics of this law are as follows:

All persons who operate vessels powered by a motor over 15 horsepower on interstate waters and who were born on or after January 1, 1983, must take and pass a boater education course or proficiency exam. The course or exam must be one that is approved by the Nevada Department of Wildlife.

A person operating a personal watercraft (PWC) must be at least 14 years of age.

A person operating a vessel that is towing a person on water skis, a surfboard, or any other device must be:

    * At least 16 years of age or …
    * At least 14 years of age and have on board a person at least 18 years of age in a position to supervise the operator.


  • Boat #1: 1978 Liberty
  • Boat #2: 1982 Eliminator Sprint

Howard19

  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Location: cant get here from there
  • *
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2010, 05:17:19 PM »
Typically they will do a field test, then breathalyze. The field test is performed on the officer's vessel and will be things like alphabet type tests, following a pen, touching your nose, etc. Yes, .08 is the legal limit, but I've heard of situations where they determined the person is too intoxicated to operate the vessel even though they blew less then a .08
the cop that got me had me blow in his face I chuckled and complied Just finished a cig  ;D
Brad it is a great tread , and to add  Here at Havasu they offer free inpections and you dont get cited   just FYI check with your local rangers or cops for more info  :thumbup:

Brad @ SCJB

  • Join Date: Oct 2006
  • Location: Las Vegas, NV
  • *
  • Administrator
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12,059
  • Karma: +236/-0
  • HNIC
    • View Profile
    • SoCal Jet Boats.com
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 115
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2010, 05:19:35 PM »
the cop that got me had me blow in his face I chuckled and complied Just finished a cig  ;D

Really? was this the rookie/volunteer? that seems very odd and unhealthy....I'd hate to have to have people blow in my face all day. NO THANKS!
  • Boat #1: 1978 Liberty
  • Boat #2: 1982 Eliminator Sprint

Howard19

  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Location: cant get here from there
  • *
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2010, 05:27:01 PM »
I asked if he was kidding he said no afterward  I told him I just smoked a cig all his buddys were cracking up  ;D >:D  I thought it was odd at the time to

Nordie

  • Join Date: Dec 2007
  • Location: Las Vegas,NV
  • *
  • Team Member
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4,132
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • never tattoo unlucky on your body, even if that is your luck it will come back ten fold!
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #10 on: August 25, 2010, 06:14:03 PM »
I stand corrected thanks brad

Sent from my SGH-T959 using Tapatalk


If im not posting..I'm pooping!

GreatLakes Jet

  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Location: St. Johns, MI
  • *
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 311
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2010, 06:55:51 PM »
one ? the plate on the boat tells the wieght and pass allowed is this a mandatory deal thanks rusty

GT Jets

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Morgan Hill CA
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,618
  • Karma: +188/-0
  • Team Evil Weiner
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 136
« Reply #12 on: August 25, 2010, 07:29:23 PM »
one ? the plate on the boat tells the wieght and pass allowed is this a mandatory deal thanks rusty

Only on Coast Guard approved vessels manufactured after 1971 and less than 20', it is a little followed thing and was really for liability issues to the manufacturer...In other words, if it is there, it needs to be followed, if it is "not there" there is a formula to figure out what the capacity should be to be considered "safe"...Looking for that right now.

GT
  • Boat #1: 1992 Carrera 20.5 Elite (I/O bitches)
  • Boat #2: 19' Bubble deck Jet BBC Berkeley
If i get some free time tonight at work, ill play with it and post it for everyone to see.

Time to man up and yank it John!  :banghead:
Ray

BoatCop

  • Join Date: Aug 2010
  • Location: Parker, AZ
  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #13 on: August 25, 2010, 08:44:52 PM »
Just a couple of notes.

First, I'm with the La Paz County Sheriff's Office, not Parker PD. But I forgive you, Brad.  ;D

An on-water DUI (OUI) conviction in AZ DOES NOT go on your driving record or affect your license in AZ. However, California gets reports of ALL states' OUIs and will apply it to your CA driving record to enhance future DUI/OUIs as a prior offense, or use it to suspend your license if you already have prior OUI/DUI offenses. But one, by itself, won't affect your CA record.

The formula for safe loading (number of passengers) for boats without a capacity plate is: length X width / 15. The resulting number is rounded DOWN to a whole number. For example a 21' boat that is 6 1/2 feet wide at it's widest point would be: 21 X 6.5= 136.5. 136.5 / 15=
9.1. Round down and the safe number of passengers would be 9. (That includes the driver)

I'm not sure I'd want to put 9 people on my 21' (20' 10") Spectra, but that's what the formula comes out to.

EDIT: No requirement for boater education in AZ YET. But it will probably be coming soon. Only about 6 states don't have some form of mandatory education. Both AZ and CA are 2 of them. Take a class NOW, before the laws are enacted and open seats become hard to find.


« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 08:56:38 PM by BoatCop »

GT Jets

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Morgan Hill CA
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,618
  • Karma: +188/-0
  • Team Evil Weiner
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 136
« Reply #14 on: August 25, 2010, 08:50:05 PM »
The formula for safe loading (number of passengers) for boats without a capacity plate is: length X width / 15. The resulting number is rounded DOWN to a whole number. For example a 21' boat that is 6 1/2 feet wide at it's widest point would be: 21 X 6.5= 136.5. 136.5 / 15=
 9.1. Round down and the safe number of passengers would be 9. (That includes the driver)

I'm not sure I'd want to put 9 people on my 21' (20' 10") Spectra, but that's what the formula comes out to.


Found it... :sly:


Thanks Boat Cop... :thumbup:

GT
  • Boat #1: 1992 Carrera 20.5 Elite (I/O bitches)
  • Boat #2: 19' Bubble deck Jet BBC Berkeley
If i get some free time tonight at work, ill play with it and post it for everyone to see.

Time to man up and yank it John!  :banghead:
Ray

Brad @ SCJB

  • Join Date: Oct 2006
  • Location: Las Vegas, NV
  • *
  • Administrator
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12,059
  • Karma: +236/-0
  • HNIC
    • View Profile
    • SoCal Jet Boats.com
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 115
« Reply #15 on: August 25, 2010, 08:57:24 PM »
Sorry about that Alan.

Welcome to the site!
  • Boat #1: 1978 Liberty
  • Boat #2: 1982 Eliminator Sprint

GreatLakes Jet

  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Location: St. Johns, MI
  • *
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 311
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #16 on: August 25, 2010, 09:30:43 PM »
thanks for the infor. guys. What a relief don't have one on my boat

GreatLakes Jet

  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Location: St. Johns, MI
  • *
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 311
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #17 on: August 25, 2010, 09:31:50 PM »
brad pm sent to you

skee

  • Join Date: Feb 2008
  • Location: Not close enough to the River!!
  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 647
  • Karma: +1/-1
  • The purpose of life is a life of purpose.....
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 28
« Reply #18 on: August 25, 2010, 10:05:59 PM »
Even tho I have been boating for many years and have never had a problem,albeit times are a changin'.. This is a Great Thread for the "newbies"...Please read it and take notice,this stuff is no joke these days!....Safe and happy Boating dayz to come!   "Skee" ;D
  • Boat #1: 1977 Spectra 18
As Joe Walsh say's....I'm just your Ordinary Average Guy.....With a Jet Boat!

GT Jets

  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Location: Morgan Hill CA
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,618
  • Karma: +188/-0
  • Team Evil Weiner
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 136
« Reply #19 on: August 25, 2010, 10:46:18 PM »
The best safety equipment you can have with you on a boat is that "Little Voice in your head", you know....The one that says "hey dumbass....What are you trying to do, kill somebody?"   Or maybe it's just my head the voice is in.... :-\

I think a bucket should be required by law to keep in the boat.....

You can pee in it, use it to fight small fires (water, not pee  ;D ) bail the boat if you wired the bilge pump wrong, put trash in it to dispose later, they make great deep water chute anchors....They should be sold by Billy Mays, may he rest in peace... :thumbup:

GT
  • Boat #1: 1992 Carrera 20.5 Elite (I/O bitches)
  • Boat #2: 19' Bubble deck Jet BBC Berkeley
If i get some free time tonight at work, ill play with it and post it for everyone to see.

Time to man up and yank it John!  :banghead:
Ray

IRRebel

  • Join Date: Dec 2008
  • Location: Casa Grande, Arizona
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5,635
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 12
« Reply #20 on: August 25, 2010, 11:03:27 PM »
Just for clarification. To back B-rad up, the boating course is NOT required in Arizona. Regardless of age. Was stopped once with RJ driving Moo, and noone even asked. You ARE required to have an airhorn or loud whistle no matter the size of boat though.  

Second thing on the OUI deal. Forget .08! They are attacking this from the "Impaired to the slightest degree" angle. .08 means NOTHING in Arizona (At least Maricopa county) either in a car, boat, atv, whatever.......if the fuzz wants to be a prick, you can, and these days with cops being layed off everywhere probably will, still be charged with an OUI or DUI at .01 if they can't find anything else!

Ray
"Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn out shouting 'Holy Shit what a ride!"---Crewcheif22 AKA Keith

BoatCop

  • Join Date: Aug 2010
  • Location: Parker, AZ
  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #21 on: August 26, 2010, 06:52:59 AM »
Second thing on the OUI deal. Forget .08! They are attacking this from the "Impaired to the slightest degree" angle. .08 means NOTHING in Arizona (At least Maricopa county) either in a car, boat, atv, whatever.......if the fuzz wants to be a prick, you can, and these days with cops being layed off everywhere probably will, still be charged with an OUI or DUI at .01 if they can't find anything else!

Ray

Actually, that's a myth. Just as the law presumes that a person is impaired at .08% or above, the law states that a person with a BAC below .05% is presumed to NOT be impaired. (Except for those under 21 and commercial drivers/boat operators acting in a commercial capacity). If a person is between .05% and .08% there is no presumption either way. A person can be charged in those circumstances, if there is sufficient evidence that the person IS impaired, either through driving patterns, appearance and demeanor, performance on FSTs, etc. These people are otherwise known as "cheap dates". We all know someone who after 1 or 2 drinks, is falling down drunk.

In actuality, very few are charged, and even fewer convicted, if they fall in that range.

FORKEDUP

  • Join Date: Jun 2007
  • Location: scottsdale
  • *
  • Macho Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,081
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 2
« Reply #22 on: August 26, 2010, 07:44:13 AM »
thank you for the clarification and the additional info bc :) :thumbup:
BEAUTY IS ONLY A LIGHT SWITCH AWAY
26' kachina force 496bbc
19' eliminator daytona 496bbc (still in my heart)

jet boat performance

  • Join Date: Dec 2006
  • Location: Atascadero ,California
  • *
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,152
  • Karma: +23/-0
    • View Profile
    • jetboatperformance.com
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #23 on: August 26, 2010, 08:41:26 AM »
Good article good info Guys !

"some people ya just cant reach"  ;)

www.jetboatperformance.com  NEW WEB PAGES for '09 www.jetboattech.com www.jacuzzijetdriveparts.com  www.jetdriveconversion.com

Brad @ SCJB

  • Join Date: Oct 2006
  • Location: Las Vegas, NV
  • *
  • Administrator
  • Informative Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12,059
  • Karma: +236/-0
  • HNIC
    • View Profile
    • SoCal Jet Boats.com
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 115
« Reply #24 on: August 26, 2010, 12:40:44 PM »
Alan,

have you ever asked someone to blow in your face to detect alcohol on their breath?

Howard19 says they asked him to do this at a safety check near the needles bridge  :screwy: :screwy: :screwy:

personally, i think it was a volunteer/rookie and the guys on the force were messing with him and he was gullible enough to actually asked him to do it.  ;D
  • Boat #1: 1978 Liberty
  • Boat #2: 1982 Eliminator Sprint

 


Powered by EzPortal
anything